What is the difference between public and protected Tweets?
When you sign up for Twitter, your Tweets are public by default; anyone can view and interact with your Tweets. Should you choose to protect your Tweets, you can do so through your account settings. If you protect your Tweets, you’ll receive a request when new people want to follow you, which you can approve or deny. Accounts that began following you before you protected your Tweets will still be able to view and interact with your protected Tweets unless you block them.
Who can see my Tweets?
- Public Tweets (the default setting) are visible to anyone, whether or not they have a Twitter account.
- Protected Tweets may only be visible to your Twitter followers.
When you protect your Tweets:
- You’ll receive a request when new people want to follow you, which you can approve or deny.
- Your Tweets, including permanent links to your Tweets, will only be visible to your followers.
- Your followers will not be able to use the Retweet button to Retweet or quote your Tweets.
- Protected Tweets will not appear in third-party search engines (like Google search or Bing).Your protected Tweets will only be searchable on Twitter by you and your followers.
- Replies you send to an account that isn’t following you will not be seen by that account (because only your followers will see your Tweets).
What happens when I change my Tweets from public to protected?
- If you at one time had public Tweets (before protecting your Tweets), those Tweets will no longer be public on Twitter, or appear in public Twitter search results. Instead, your Tweets will only be viewable and searchable on Twitter by you and your followers.
What happens when I change my Tweets from protected to public?
- Unprotecting your Tweets will cause any previously protected Tweets to be made public.
What happens when I share media in a protected Tweet?
- If your Tweets are protected, only your followers will be able to see your media in your Tweets. Please note that your followers may download or re-share links to media that you share in protected Tweets. Links to media shared on Twitter are not protected. Anyone with the link will be able to view the content.